A big challenge in the Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Look at this article

RIMOUSKI | After the breaking media involving the possible exile of Alexis Lafrenière in Europe, the Océanic of Rimouski will have to play its best hockey of the season if he wishes to continue his winning streak, this week, during his annual visit in the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region.

The troupe of Serge Beausoleil take on the Drillers in a dual program scheduled tonight and Friday at Centre Air Creebec.

The journey will continue in Rouyn-Noranda, Saturday and Sunday, at the arena Iamgold.

While the Océanic will have left a part of its energy in Val-d’or, the Huskies will await quietly their opponent in the Bas-Saint-Laurent.

The men of Mario Pouliot enjoy a full week of preparation following their clash last Saturday against the Olympics in Gatineau.

Rimouski has won 11 duels precedents, including eight on ice rinks opponents, while the Huskies seem to be unbeatable in 2019. They have won their last 17 matches.

Lafrenière at the top of his art

For the past month, the Océanic, however, the prowess of Lafrenière for struggling with the Halifax Mooseheads and the Drakkar of Baie-Comeau for first place in the conference.

In the 11 consecutive wins to his team, the striker of Saint-Eustache has amassed 27 points, including 14 assists.

On a smaller scale, his teammates trio, Jimmy Huntington and Olivier Garneau, also contribute to the success of Rimouski.

The first has 15 points (5-10) in its fact sheet, while the other has reached the milestone of 30 goals for the first time in his career in the QMJHL.

READ  Antonio Brown ready to pack a suitcase

The two guards of the ” Oceanic, Colten Ellis and Tristan Bérubé, will see action during the week.

For his part, Charles-Edouard D’astous continues to chase down the record for the most number of points collected in a career by a defender in the regular season in the history of the Océanic.

The captain displays 175 points to his statistics, five less than the mark established by Patrick Coulombe between 2001 and 2006.